Skip to main content
You can watch recordings of the lecture videos online.

The lecture schedule will be updated as the term progresses.

Date Lecture Topic Activity Required Readings Supplemental Readings Homework Due
Thu, Jan 16, 2020 Text Adventure Games + Intro to Class [slides] Play a text adventure game
Thu, Jan 23, 2020 History of Interactive Fiction and Introduction to Narratology [slides] by Nick Montfort Play HW1 games HW1: Build a Text-Adventure Game We will play your game in class, so be sure to have it done before class begins.
Tue, Jan 28, 2020 Course Selection Period ends
Thu, Jan 30, 2020 Introduction to Reinforcement Learning TextWorld tutorial HW2: NLP for text adventures
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 Natural Language Reasoning [slides]
Thu, Feb 6, 2020 Word vectors, sentence embeddings, and other strange things [slides] by Nancy Fulda
Thu, Feb 13, 2020 Unconditioned Text Generation [slides] HW3: Reasoning about story endings We will discuss approaches (and what has worked or hasn't) in class.
Thu, Feb 20, 2020 Extracting Narrative Structure [slides]
Fri, Jan 24, 2020 Drop Period ends
Thu, Feb 27, 2020 Controllable Text Generation + Generated Text Detection Walk-through fine-tuning GPT-2, final project brainstorm
  • Rowan Zellers, Ari Holtzman, Hannah Rashkin, Yonatan Bisk, Ali Farhadi, Franziska Roesner, Yejin Choi, Defending Against Neural Fake News
  • Daphne Ippolito, Daniel Duckworth, Douglas Eck, Chris Callison-Burch, Detection of Machine-Generated Text is Easiest when Human are Fooled
Thu, Mar 5, 2020 Dialog Systems and Chatbots HW4
Thu, Mar 12, 2020 No class (Spring Break)
Thu, Mar 19, 2020 Text Generation with Knowledge Grounding and Narrative Control + Bias in Language Models Proposal
Fri, Mar 20, 2020 Grade Type Change Deadline
Thu, Mar 26, 2020 Human-Computer-Interaction for Collaborative Story Generation
Mon, Mar 30, 2020 Last day to withdraw from a course
Thu, Apr 2, 2020 Computer Vision, Speech, and other Multimodal Connections
Thu, Apr 9, 2020 History of Story-telling in Artificial Intelligence
Thu, Apr 16, 2020 TBD
Thu, Apr 23, 2020 Final Presentations