Skip to main content
The lecture schedule will be updated as the term progresses. You can find more details under the Modules tab.
Date Lecture Topic Activity Required Readings (Due Day Listed) Supplemental Readings Homework Due
Thu, Jan 13, 2022 Intro to the class, Interactive Fiction, and Automated Story Generation
(Module 0) [slides] [video]
Play a text adventure game
Mon, Jan 17, 2022
Build a Text-Adventure Game HW (5%)
Tue, Jan 18, 2022 Neural Language Models + Transformers
(Module 1) by Daphne Ippolito
Play HW1 games
Thu, Jan 20, 2022 Finetuning/Prompt Engineering for Transformers + Neural Story Generation
(Module 1)
Tue, Jan 25, 2022 GPT-3
(Module 1)
Tue, Jan 25, 2022 Course Selection Period ends
Thu, Jan 27, 2022 Recap
Mon, Jan 31, 2022
Transformers HW (10%)
Tue, Feb 1, 2022 Scripts
(Module 2)
Thu, Feb 3, 2022 Events
(Module 2)
Tue, Feb 8, 2022 Guided Story Generation
(Module 2)
Thu, Feb 10, 2022 Recap
Mon, Feb 14, 2022
Scripts HW (10%)
Tue, Feb 15, 2022 Planning
(Module 3)
  • Peter Norvig and Stuart J. Russell, Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach, Chapter 11
Thu, Feb 17, 2022 STRIPS
(Module 3)
Mon, Feb 21, 2022 Drop Period ends
Tue, Feb 22, 2022 Story Planning + Drama Management
(Module 3)
Thu, Feb 24, 2022 Recap
Mon, Feb 28, 2022
Planning HW (10%)
Tue, Mar 1, 2022 Commonsense Reasoning
(Module 4)
Thu, Mar 3, 2022 Knowledge Representations
(Module 4)
Tue, Mar 8, 2022 No class (Spring Break)
Thu, Mar 10, 2022 No class (Spring Break)
Tue, Mar 15, 2022 Schemata
(Module 4)
Thu, Mar 17, 2022 Recap
Fri, Mar 18, 2022 Grade Type Change Deadline
Mon, Mar 21, 2022
Commonsense Reasoning HW (10%)
Tue, Mar 22, 2022 Intro to Dialogue
(Module 5)
Thu, Mar 24, 2022 Dialogue for Interactive Fiction
(Module 5)
Final Project Milestone 1: Team Formation and 3 Idea Proposals(5%)
Mon, Mar 28, 2022 Last day to withdraw from a course
Tue, Mar 29, 2022 Character-Based Generation
(Module 5)
Thu, Mar 31, 2022 Recap
Mon, Apr 4, 2022
Dialogue Systems HW (10%)
Tue, Apr 5, 2022 Reinforcement Learning for Playing Interactive Fiction
(Module 6)
Final Project Milestone 2: Progress Report (Select Idea & Data Prep) (5%)
Thu, Apr 7, 2022 Mixed Methods
(Module 6)
Tue, Apr 12, 2022 Story Ending Prediction (Story Cloze Test)
(Module 6)
Thu, Apr 14, 2022 Story Evaluation
(Module 6)
Tue, Apr 19, 2022 TBD
Final Project Milestone 3: Progress Report (5%)
Thu, Apr 21, 2022 TBD
Tue, Apr 26, 2022 TBD
Final Project Milestone 4: Final Report (20%)